Jesus Ferreira named to MLS Best XI

Major League Soccer named the Best XI for 2022 today and FC Dallas’ Jesus Ferreira was tapped for the team. Ferreira is the first FC Dallas player to earn MLS Best XI honors since Mauro Díaz and Matt Hedges earned the honor in 2016.

Ferreira was named the 2022 MLS Young Player of the Year earlier this offseason. Ferreira also topped MLS’ 22 Under 22 list in September.

Jesus Ferreira and his father David, the 2010 MLS Most Valuable Player with Dallas, become the first father-son duo to each be named to MLS Best XI teams.

“I’m excited. Obviously, these are goals that I wouldn’t be able to achieve without my teammates,” Jesús Ferreira said. “But I’m excited that I can be named in the best XI of the league. That’s another award that I take with me for this season and hopefully next season, I can keep working hard to make that best XI again and keep achieving other things. I’m just excited to be able to be on that top XI.”

2022 MLS Best XI Presented by Continental Tire

Goalkeeper: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
Defenders: Jakob Glesnes (Philadelphia Union), Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC) 
Midfielders: Luciano Acosta (FC Cincinnati), Sebastián Driussi (Austin FC), Dániel Gazdag (Philadelphia Union), Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC)
Forwards: Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brandon Vázquez (FC Cincinnati), Carlos Vela (LAFC)

“Every season we want to be better. For me, my road has been a little difficult with 2020 been a rough year for me with only one goal scored, and then going back to 2021 where I can say that I broke out. Then this year was the best year of my career. It’s exciting to see that I can keep improving each year. I’m excited that I can achieve things this year that I didn’t know I could achieve before. I’m just excited that I can do things right and achieve objective personal goals that I have set for myself.”

– Jesus Ferreira

FC Dallas All-Time MLS Best XI

1996Leonel AlvarezMidfield
1996Mark DoddGoalkeeper
1999Jason KreisForward
2002Oscar ParejaMidfield
2004Ronnie O’BrienMidfield
2005Ronnie O’BrienMidfield
2008Kenny CooperForward
2009Jeff CunninghamForward
2010David FerreiraMidfield
2011Brek SheaMidfield
2015Matt Hedges *Defense
2015Fabian CastilloMidfield
2016Mauro DiazMidfield
2016Matt Hedges *Defense
2022Jesus FerreiraForward

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *