FC Dallas midfielder Pablo Aranguiz called into Chile U23 team for Maurice Revello Tournament

FC Dallas midfielder Pablo Aranguiz has been called into the Chile U23 team by head coach Bernardo Redín for the 2019 El Torneo Maurice Revello taking place from June 1st to June 15th in the region of Provence.

Founded in 1967 as a U21 event, the Toulon Tournament, as it is commonly called, is a fairly prestigious, invitation-only tournament.  This year the tournament is inviting under 22 teams and so this version of the Chile U23 was adapted to fit those criteria.

Chile is in Group A along with England, Japan, and Portugal. Chile faces Portugal on June 1, Japan on June 4, and England on June 7.

Redin said of Aranguiz, “En el caso de Pablo [Aránguiz], ha tenido más continuidad en Estados Unidos y puede ser un gran aporte a este equipo”. Which google translates as, “In the case of Pablo [Aránguiz], he has had more continuity in the United States and can be a great contribution to this team.”

This tournament will for Chile be part of their preparations for Olympic Qualification that will be played in Colombia in January of 2020.

Aranguiz posted a short video of himself on Instagram as he departed on Monday to meet the team in France.

An image take from Pablo Aranguiz's Instagram video on his way to France to meet up with the Chile U23 team. (5-27-19)
An image take from Pablo Aranguiz’s Instagram video on his way to France to meet up with the Chile U23 team. (5-27-19)(Pablo Abanguiz)

Chile U23 Squad

Goalkeepers: Gonzalo Collao (University of Chile), Zacarías López (Sports La Serena), Luis Ureta (O’Higgins)

Defenders: Lucas Alarcón (University of Chile), Sebastián Cabrera (Coquimbo Unido), Alex Ibacache (Everton), Nicolás Ramírez (Huachipato), Nicolás Díaz (Palestino), Víctor Retamal (University of Concepción), Nicolás Fernández (Audax Italiano)

Midfielders: Gabriel Suazo (Colo Colo), Williams Alarcón (Colo Colo), Jimmy Martinez (University of Chile), Diego Fernandez (Iquique Sports), Ignacio Jara (Cobreloa), Tomás Alarcón (O’Higgins), Pablo Aránguiz (FC Dallas – USA), Ángelo Araos (Corinthians – BRA)

Forwards: Nicolás Guerra (University of Chile), Iván Morales (Colo Colo), Mathias Pinto (Ñublense), Franco Lobos (Union La Calera)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *